The South Shore Commission

During the late '60s, the X-Citers morphed into the South Shore Commission, following a trend that saw show bands becoming self-contained units. Their new name was self-referential, as they were stable enough to move from week-rate hotels into the comparable sleepy South Shore area of Chicago. The civic feel of the name combined with one of Chicago's trendiest black neighborhoods made it strangely hip. Plenty of personnel changes ensued before the final lineup solidified. Wally Williams and Cleo Griffin replaced the original horn players. Warren Hagood sang some behind his kit, and Jay Jordan, brother of One-derful! chanteuse Dorothy Prince, was temporarily their vocalist. Inevitably, the band crossed paths with Pegue.

The South Shore Commission Appears on: